top of page

How To Manage Stress

How To Manage Stress can help you learn some skills for managing stress and gaining perspective on the stressors in your life.

How Attitude Can Reduce Your Stress

Positive Thoughts about Ourselves, Others, and Situations Your thoughts largely control what you do, and your future! Give yourself kindness by thinking:

  • I will focus on what's right with me, not what's wrong.

  • I can control the way I feel by thinking positive thoughts.

  • I will compare myself to my personal best, not to anyone else.

  • I accept my own feelings, both positive and negative.

  • I can enjoy my life here and now, not in the past or the future.

Positive thoughts about people can help us get along better. Some examples include:

  • I will focus on the good in people, not the bad.

  • Most people are doing the best they can.

  • People who hurt me are probably hurting inside.

  • Other people may need to place their own needs before mine.

  • I will ask people for what I want without griping.

"How Can I Change My Negative Thoughts to Positive Thoughts?" There is a simple technique, outlined below. Use the form below and try this process:

  • Every time you have a negative feeling, stop and ask, "What am I thinking? What am I telling myself?"

  • If you can, write down the negative thought.

  • Then think of a more positive statement you could make to yourself. Try one from the list above if you like.

  • Repeat the positive statement to yourself several times.

  • Decide how you would act if you really believed the positive statement. Act that way as much as you can.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page